Product Reviews by Customers

Below are reviews submitted by our customers through Amazon, Ebay, Email, and other methods.
We also welcome your feedback and reviews on our website.

Built well and works

Simple design that works!!

Positive Reviews Are Correct

All the positive reviews here are correct, so I won't elaborate much on this excellent and easy-to-use product.
As others have said, make sure you follow the watering instructions so that your soil is neither too dry (too hard to pull plugs out) nor too muddy (mud is easy to remove, but muddy plugs are too sticky and soft to be useful).
Quick searches will lead you to online videos that show what ideal plugs look like. These videos will clarify whether you're preparing (watering) your soil correctly for ProPlugging...

Not as easy to use as advertising shows.

The plugger works okay to cut plugs out of fresh sod. Cutting the plug holes is not so easy. Unless the ground is very soft, cutting plug holes with this unit is not possible per our experience. The rings to limit the plus side kept falling off. 
Our soil is very heavy red clay which cause the plugged to clog. It took a hour to clean out the unit. So, we stopped using it to cut plug holes.

ProPlugger comment: Hi, We're sorry to hear that you had trouble with digging holes in your heavy clay. From what you've described, it sounds like your soil isn't moist enough. To get the best results, water the area well a day or two in advance. If you're still having issues, you may need to water again if you haven't had rain in your area. To keep the depth ring from slipping off, make sure you're firmly stepping down on the footpeg until the tool bottoms out on the depth ring. This will snug the depth ring in place onto the tool. Again, we're sorry you've had issues and hope this helps. Please feel free to call the number on our website if you'd like technical help. Best regards, Bill Carney, ProPlugger


'm using the plugger to transfer plugs from my well established Zenith Zoysia front lawn to bare spots in my Zenith last year seeded back yard. The plugger is well made and works perfectly. If you fill the plugger with bare grass plugs and lay them to the side, then fill the plugger with the zoysia. You then can go back to the holes you left and dump a plug out one at a time placing it in a hole until its empty. Then repeat the process over and over. The last step is to go back and pick up the plugs you layed to the side to fill in the remaining holes. I highly recommend this quality plugger!

Works as advertised

Not much more to say. Gland I bought it. Planted 100 plugs of grass (so far).

Pro Plugger

Very well made, works great

It is well worth the money.

It is so simple. NO it does not make the perfect plug everytime but about 95 present. Make your holes first then go get your plugs. THAT EASY

Very Sturdy

I was surprised at how heavy (for old me) it is. It does the job though, and that's what counts.

Works great

 have only planted my first batch of 72 zoysia plugs. It worked great and it is so simple. I put both of the depth rings on the bottom tapered cutting end (because I would probably lose the 4” ring in my garage somewhere if I didn’t. Step on it, twist, then pull and plant. It rained last night here in St. Louis so the ground was still moist, early in the morning. Highly recommended.

As advertised.

Works great!

Easy to use

Perfect for anyone that plants bulbs. We plant over 150 during the spring and this makes it take no time at all. Get this if you are doing any bulb plating.

Love this thing

Great for filling in bare spots in the yard! Love it, use it all the time!

Does not work as described.

Don't buy.

Just what my yard needed!

Arrived early, Excellent Condition, well built, helps me take grass from healthy areas of my yard to fill in bare spots. It was a good buy.

Not for St. Augustine plugs.

Does not work well for plugging St. Augustine plugs.

ProPlugger comment: We're sorry you purchased the ProPlugger for using with St. Augustine. We don't recommend using the tool for St. Augustine grass as it tends to fall apart when plugging and it's difficult to cut viable plugs due to St. Augustine's loose structure of roots and rhizomes as we've noted in our product listing. Bill Carney, ProPlugger

Fine American made product

A fine American made yard tool. Works well, as described. A new, favorite, yard tool.

Turn upside down to extract plug


finally found a hole digger that I can manage

Planting herbs.

Does not work in heavy clay

Absolutely does not work in heavy clay of North Carolina. Plugs get stuck in the long cylinder and eventually are impossible to get out. Eventually had to throw it away. Works fine in more sandy soil.

ProPlugger response: We're very sorry you had issues with the ProPlugger. The tool was developed and tested out in North Carolina. Moisture content in the soil is the key to working in heavy red clay as well as emptying the tool when it's less than half full. The last plug does not easily fall out of the tube because of tapered end, but if you dump out the other soil plugs, you can usually start plugging again and that plug will move up the tube. If the last plug is still stuck. use a spray nozzle on the end of a hose to clear it. Pushing an implement into the tool to remove the clog can cause the clog to further compact. Cleaning out the tube with water after use, will keep the dried clay from causing clogs the next time you use it.

Works exactly as advertised

I have very dense soil and it pull and released plugs with little effort. I was very surprised that they just slid out, even with the tub full. The depth ring might take a hammer to get off after using it but I don’t plan on using the 2” deep plug ring anyway. I’m impressed.